
Rockhounding 
Permit 
Program 

In conjunction with Utah be-

coming a state (January 4, 

1896), the federal govern-

ment granted to Utah lands 

to be held and managed in 

trust to provide economic 

support for public education 

and other public institutions. 

There are currently about 

3.4 million surface acres 

along with 4.6 million min-

eral acres of trust land. 

Trust lands are scattered, 

checkerboard fashion, 

throughout Utah. They are 

seen on most ownership 

maps as blue, square-mile 

sections. Although there are 

some large blocks of trust 

lands, most of the parcels 

are square sections of 640 

acres each. 

WHAT ARE UTAH’S TRUST 

LANDS? 

School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration  

School and Institutional Trust Lands  

Administration’s offices: 

 

Main Office: 

675 East 500 South, Suite 500 

Salt Lake City, UT  84102 

Phone:  (801) 538-5100 

Fax:  (801) 355-0922 

 

Southwestern Office: 

2303 North Coral Canyon Blvd.  

Suite 100-A 

Washington, UT  84780 

Phone:  (435) 652-2950 

Fax:  (435) 652-2952 

 

Southeastern Office: 

217 East Center Street #230 

Moab, UT  84532 

Phone:  (435) 259-7417 

Fax:  (435) 259-7473 

 

Central  Office: 

130 North Main 

Richfield, UT  84701 

Phone:  (435) 896-6494 

Fax:  (435) 896-6158 



If you are interested in obtaining a 

rockhounding permit for Utah’s trust 

lands, please visit or call one of our 

offices listed on the other side of this 

form. 

 

Permits are issued as follows: 

  

Individual or Family $10.00* 

Association  $200.00* 

 

*Note:  Fees are 

subject to change; 

please contact one of 

our offices for current 

price information. 

 

Fees collected for 

rockhounding permits 

will go to Utah’s 

Permanent School 

Fund and other trust beneficiary 

institutions. 

 

Regulations 
 

Please be aware of the following 

regulations concerning rockhounding 

permit activities on Utah’s trust lands: 

 

Rockhounding on trust lands without a 

rockhounding permit is considered 

trespass, which is subject to penalties as 

outlined in Utah Code Annotated Section 

53C-2-301. Keep your completed permit, 

showing your fees paid, with you while 

rockhounding on trust lands. 

 

Trust Lands 
Rockhounding 
Permit Program 

No material may be collected under the 

permit if you intend to collect for 

commercial purposes. If you intend to mine 

for commercial purposes, you must obtain 

a mineral lease or materials permit through 

our main office. 

 

A rockhounding permit 

authorizes collection of 

up to 25 pounds per 

day up to a maximum 

of 250 pounds per 

year. 

 

The permit does not authorize collection on 

trust lands being leased for the mineral you 

are collecting unless you obtain permission 

from the lessee. Please leave the premises 

if asked to do so by the mineral lessee or if 

the area is posted closed to rockhounding. 

 

The permit does not authorize collection in 

areas where active mining operations are 

in progress. 

 

Does the Property Already Have 

a Mineral Lease On It? 

 
You are required to check the mineral 

status of the area where you plan to 

collect. You may find out if a section of 

trust land is currently held under a mineral 

lease by contacting our 

main office. You will 

need to be prepared to 

give the legal description 

(township, range, 

section, and subdivision) 

of those lands. 

 

You may also check the land status on our 

web site www.trustlands.utah.gov. On the 

web site home page: click on the Land & 

Lease Records, then click on Land Module. 

Enter the desired township and range and 

then click on the section of interest. Lease 

contracts will be shown in the lower left of 

the screen. 

Who Owns The Land? 
 

Please be certain you know the ownership 

of the lands where you plan to collect. 

Land ownership could be trust lands, 

private, federal, or many other entities. 

Each entity will have its own regulations 

for rockhounding activities, so it is 

essential to know who the land owner is. 

 

Only Rocks...No Fossils! 
 

The rockhounding permit does not 

authorize collection of vertebrate fossils 

or other exceptional fossils that are 

designated State paleontological 

landmarks. If you have any further 

questions about State paleontological 

landmarks, please contact the State 

Paleontologist at the Utah Geological 

Survey (801) 537-3300 

 

As required under Utah Code Annotated 

Section 63-73-17, you must report the 

discovery of vertebrate fossils to the Utah 

Geological Survey and the School and 

Institutional Trust Lands Administration. 

 

The permit does not authorize collection 

on lands that are administered by other 

State agencies, such as; Division of 

Wildlife Resources, Division of Parks and 

Recreation, Dept. of Transportation, etc. 

 

We suggest you obtain maps for the lands 

where you plan to collect. They are sold by 

various agencies, 

including the Utah 

Geological Survey, 

Bureau of Land 

Management, and some 

recreational outlets. 

Current trust lands 

ownership maps are also 

sold from our main 

office.  You may need to 

order in advance depending on 

availability. 


