Board of Trustees










The Board of Trustees of the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration meets several times annually to review and consider all trust lands business. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend all meetings. Please Note: Meetings are subject to change, please visit the Utah Public Notice website for current meetings and agendas.


2017 Board Meetings:

January 6 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
January 19 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
March 16 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
April 20 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
May 2 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
May 18 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
June 15 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
June 28 | Tour – Tabby Block
July 9 – 13 | WSLCA Conference
August 17 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
September 21 | Meeting and Tour | Agenda
October 19 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
November 16 | Salt Lake City | Agenda
December 21 | Agenda


2018 Board Meetings:

January 4-5 | Regular Meeting
February (as needed)
March 15 | Regular Meeting
April 19 | Regular Meeting
May 16-17 | Board Tour
June 21 | Regular Meeting
July (as needed)
August 16 | Regular Meeting
September 19-20 | Board Tour
October 17 | Regular Meeting
November 15 | Regular Meeting
December (as needed)


Six trustees are appointed to six-year terms by the governor, who makes the appointments from a list of nominees supplied to him from a nominating committee. The seventh at-large member of the Board of Trustees is appointed at the pleasure of the Governor. The Board of Trustees selects its officers from within its ranks.

Thomas W. Bachtell
Chief Executive Officer of Wind River Resources Corporation
Background: Resource development and the practice of law
Salt Lake City, Utah
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2018
Scott O. Ruppe
Chief Financial Officer, Brady Trucking
Background: Business and water rights issues
Vernal, Utah
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2019
Lonnie M. Bullard
Vice Chair
Chairman of the Board, Jacobsen Construction Company
Background: Finance, Real Estate Development and Commercial Construction
Farmington, Utah
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2020
Roger E. Barrus
Background: Oil and gas, real estate development, business management, and legislative service
Centerville, Utah
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2021
Donald G. Foot
President and CEO Veragold Corporation
Background: Metallurgical engineer, corporate development and management.
Fruit Heights, Utah
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2022
W. Richards Woodbury
Woodbury Corporation
Background: Real estate development, planning and management.
Term Expires: Jun 30, 2023
Michael Mower
Deputy Chief of Staff and State Planning Coordinator in the Governor's Office
Background: Coordinating state planning and public lands initiatives
Salt Lake City, Utah

Term does not expire; serves at the pleasure of the governor.
Nannette Johnson
Administrative Assistant to the Board